ICC World T20 Qualifiers Kick Starts From 8th March 2016!!

If you still have’nt subscribed to your sports channel, you surely have a reason to do it right now! One of the most spectacular and entertaining events of Cricket starts today!!


Qualifier rounds for the world cup kick starts today with 8 teams fighting hard for the 2 spots which are up for the grabs. Two test playing nations are also among those eight teams which are playing for the Qualifying Rounds. They are Bangladesh and Zimbabwe. Qualifiers are to be played between 8th march to 13th march 2016.

download (1)

The 8 teams are divided into 2 groups.

Group A: Bangladesh, Ireland, Netherlands, Oman
Group B: Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Scotland, Zimbabwe.

images (1)

Each team plays the other in its group once, after which the top team from each of the group gets the chance to play against the Big Boys. In case two teams in a group end up with the same number of points, then net run-rate shall come into the picture and the team which enjoys higher net run-rate amongst them shall go through to the Group 10 Stage!


Bangladesh looks like the clear favorites in group A to go through especially after beating the likes of Sri Lanka and Pakistan in the recently concluded Asia Cup. But one cannot just write off Ireland and Netherlands. One their day they can challenge the likes of Bangladesh and give them the run for their money. Group B has 2 contenders in Afghanistan and Zimbabwe. Both have a good chance of making it to the Group 10 stage. Afghanistan are improving with their every outing. Zimbabwe on the other hand will have a lot to prove that they deserve to be in top 10 teams playing cricket.


All in all ICC T20 world cup is to look out for! Fans are awaiting some memorable matches, breath-taking centuries, amazing clashes, razor-sharp balling and full-on entertainment in the days to come!!

Stay updated with Cricketwale for further updates!

Darshan Doshi


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.